Who are C&R – Communities and Residents

Existing for over 77 years, C&R – Communities and Residents is a voluntary grass-roots association of members, and is the longest standing political grouping in Auckland local government. Its purpose is to provide leaders for Auckland’s development, both locally and regionally; to help all the people who live in Auckland. We do this by encouraging and supporting like-minded people both as candidates and as elected local government members of Councils, Boards and Trusts across the Auckland Region.

What is the AECT:

The Auckland Energy Consumer Trust (AECT) is a private trust established in 1993. It acts in the interests of its beneficiaries, over 318,000 households and businesses in Auckland, Manukau and parts of Papakura.

Most trusts exist for the same reason: to make sure their assets are protected and managed in a way that delivers maximum benefit for their beneficiaries, both in the short term and the long term.

Generally speaking, the AECT does four things:

  • They receive dividends from our shareholding in Vector and distribute them to our beneficiaries
  • They manage our majority ownership of Vector on your behalf.
  • They deal with government bodies on regulatory issues
  • They provide strategic input to Vector at board level

Your Team

Mike Buczkowski

Mike Buczkowski

B.E. (Electrical), MBA (Hons)
Electrical Engineer, 15 years
Former Consulting Electrical Engineer Beca
Registered Electrical Engineer 15 years
Trustee AECT 2000-2015
Former Deputy Chair AECT
General Manager Operations Ricoh
Managing Director Hirepool 1995-2003

William Cairns

William Cairns

B.Com (Canterbury), Dip. Bus (Auckland), FCIS, F.Fin
Current Chair, Auckland Energy Consumer Trust Trustee,
Auckland Energy Consumer Trust - Since 2009
Executive Director, General Finance Ltd
Auckland City Councillor - 2001-2004
Hobson Community Board member - 1998-2004
Chairman, Art Gallery Enterprise Board - 2001-2004
Former Director, Metrowater Ltd

James Carmichael

James Carmichael

BE (Canterbury), Fellow of the Institute of Professional Engineers NZ,
Senior Executive Program (Columbia)
Current Trustee, AECT (2006-)
Director, Vector Ltd and NGC Holdings Ltd
Director, ProjectMax Ltd
Executive, Energy Trusts of NZ
Director, Ranhill Power Berhad - 2005-2008
Regional Director Asia-Pacific, PowerGen UK plc - 1994-2001
Associate Member, Institute of Directors NZ
Member, Rotary Club of Newmarket

Dr. Paul Hutchison

Dr. Paul Hutchison

MB, ChB, FRCOG, FACOG, Dip Com Health
Member of Parliament for Hunua - 1999-2014
Chair, Parliamentary Select Committee - 2008-2014
Director, Paul Charles Investments & South Pacific Star Cinemas
Clinician, East Tamaki Health Care
Member, Institute of Directors
Former Patron, South Auckland Arts
Recipient, NZMA award - outstanding contribution to health services

Karen Sherry

Karen Sherry

QSM, MA (Hons), LLB, (Hons), CFInstD
Current Trustee, Auckland Energy Consumer Trust- Since 1994
Chair, Auckland Energy Consumer Trust - 2001-2003
Chair, Energy Trusts of NZ
Director, Vector Ltd and NGC Holdings Ltd
Director Auckland SPCA, 2012 - September 2015
Director, Mercury Energy Ltd - 1994-1999
Partner, Bell-Booth Sherry - Barristers and Solicitors
Executive Education Program, Corporate Governance (Harvard)
Recipient, QSM - services to electricity industry

What C&R – Communities and Residents Stand For

  • Increasing dividends to you
  • Maintaining the lowest possible line charges
  • Undergrounding the power lines
  • Improving the reliability and quality of your power supply
  • Continuing strong governance and financial management
  • Maximising the value of Vector
We Will:
  • Retain the AECT’s current 75.4% shareholding of Vector
  • Keep the AECT dividend in your hands

What We Have Achieved

  • Consumer ownership of Vector
  • Increased your annual dividend to $345
  • Distributed $1,010 over the last 3 years to you
  • Continued undergrounding power lines
  • Supported Vector’s green initiatives;
  • and solar solutions

Support Us

Voting documents will be posted from 16 October 2015. Once you have received your voting document, you should complete, seal in the return postage paid envelope, and post or deliver to the Returning Officer. Remember to post no later than 27 October 2015 to guarantee delivery before close of voting (5pm 30 October 2015).

When you receive your voting document, make sure you vote for ALL five of the C&R – Communities and Residents candidates to keep the AECT dividend in your hands.

  • William CAIRNS
  • Dr. Paul HUTCHISON
  • Karen SHERRY

Click here to like us on

Contact Us

YOUR NAME (required)

YOUR EMAIL (required)

YOUR MESSAGE (optional)